SpatialKey is built around the concept of sharing information with multiple users in your organization. You can share data and dashboards within SpatialKey and can also share reports with users outside of SpatialKey.

Sharing data in SpatialKey

Sharing data with others in your organization has never been easier. To begin, select the Datasets tab and find your dataset. Click on the gear icon to view data settings and select the “Share with Users” option on the left side of the screen.

You can give individual users or groups permission to datasets – either Editor, Contributor, or Viewer. Users who imported the data are set as Creators.

Click the “add users” button to get a full list of users that can be added. Once the users are added to the dataset, you can manage their permissions levels (See screen above).

Viewer vs. Contributor vs. Creator/Editor

You know how to manage permissions on datasets now, but what do the different permissions levels mean? Here are some overview details about permission levels.

Viewers

  • Viewers can do just that… view the data. They cannot take any action that would impact that data. They can only view it as-is.
  • If the option for “Allow viewers to export as CSV” is disabled, viewers will not be able to export a dataset. Note that they will still be able to view dashboards, capture screenshots and export analytic pods, with the exception of the record list.

Contributor

Contributors have all Viewer permissions plus the following:

  • Contributors can disable option to “allow viewers to export as CSV”.
  • Contributors can join and alter the column labels and formats.
  • Contributors can manage data permissions for Viewers and Contributor only.

Creator/Editor

Creators and Editors have the same permission level, there’s just the added distinction on who created the dataset. Creators and Editors have all Contributor permissions plus the following:

  • Creators/Editors can change the data, manage portfolio settings, and delete the data.
  • Creators/Editors can manage data permissions for all users.

See the table below for additional details of Creator/Editor, Contributor, and Viewer permissions.

Manage Data Options Creator/Editor Contributor Viewer
Details edit edit

no option to “delete dataset”

read-only

no option for “data import API” or “delete dataset”

Manage Data export

append and replace

export

no option to append or replace

export available if “allow viewers to export” is enabled

no option to append or replace

Share with Users edit edit n/a
Fields edit edit n/a
Join Data edit edit read-only
Policy File Setup edit read-only read-only

Sharing dashboards within SpatialKey

Sharing dashboards is a simple two-step process.

  • First, a user must have access to ALL datasets included in the dashboard – see the Sharing Data section above for details on how to share a dataset. If a user does not have access to ALL datasets included in the dashboard, they will not be able to view the dashboard.
  • Second, users need access to the dashboard. Make sure that your dashboard is “shared with your organization” and if the users have access to the underlying data, they will be able to see the dashboard.

You can turn sharing on from within the dashboard itself, or from within the manage dashboard settings.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 8.59.28 AM

Sharing a dashboard from within the dashboard (image above)

Sharing a dashboard from the Dashboard tab (image above)

Who can see the dashboard? 

Check out the “dashboard sharing” option in the dashboard settings screen. From here, you can get a quick perspective of who can actually see the dashboard. When users are in this list, they have access to view all underlying datasets and dashboard sharing is enabled.

Dashboard owners

It is possible that you want to give users permissions to edit a dashboard also. From the “dashboard sharing” screen, select the option to “add owner”. A list of users and groups will appear that can be added as owners.

Note: dashboard viewers can view and interact with the dashboard, but they cannot save over the dashboard. Only dashboard owners can save over the dashboard.